Apparently, I Write Like a Blogger When I Blog, and a Bunch of Sci-Fi Authors When I Write Fantasy

So, I was checking out my friend’s blog, when I came across this post. I was intrigued, so I went to the site. I had to dig through my archives to find anything long enough to post, but I chose most of this post. The result was as follows:

I write like
Cory Doctorow

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!


That’s pretty neat. For anyone who doesn’t know, Cory Doctorow is a notable blogger and sci-fi author. I’ve actually never read anything by him, but I first heard of him in this xkcd comic. Check out some more results after the jump.

Next up, I figured I’d look for something on my computer. I threw in a Gothic piece I’d done for school last year, and it popped out this:

I write like
Dan Brown

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!


Kind of unexpected, but cool. For anyone who isn’t familiar with Dan Brown, I- well, I’m not really sure what to say here. Go read The Da Vinci Code, already! Sheesh.

After that, I seemed to be on a roll, so I put in a short fantasy piece I’d done a few years ago (it used to be on this site, maybe I’ll post it again). This time, I got:

I write like
Harry Harrison

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!


For those of you who aren’t familiar with Harry Harrison, same here. Wikipedia says he’s a science fiction author, and I guess he wrote a trilogy with the same name as the one L. Ron Hubbard book that I’ve ever read. Weird.

Next up, I put in a few paragraphs from my failed NaNoWriMo attempt from last November, a fantasy story in a similar vein to the above piece. This result was probably the coolest of them all:

I write like
Isaac Asimov

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!


ISAAC FREAKIN’ ASIMOV. That’s just awesome. I mean, it doesn’t really mean much, but it’s still really neat. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Isaac Asimov… I want to say get the hell off my internet, but that would be rude. Seriously, though, at least read about his Three Laws of Robotics. Then we’re good.

And then finally, even though it was probably too short, I thew in yesterday’s poem. The result? I was surprised:

I write like
Ray Bradbury

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!


Ray Bradbury, author of Fahrenheit 451. I don’t know his works well, so you guys don’t have to either. What was really shocking, though, is that every one of these results is a sci-fi author(Dan Brown counts, Angels & Demons is about anti-matter), even though none of my input was SF writing. That’s pretty awesome, I think.

Put in some of your own stuff, guys, and see what you get. If anything interesting turns up, I’d love to hear about it. Leave a comment, as usual.

Shard

About Shard

I'm a reader, a writer, a gamer, and various other things.

Posted on August 26th, 2010, in General Bloggery, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Ryan writes like Cory too.

  2. Apparently my blogging is like Cory too and my story writing is like Stephen King. If he finds out, he will probably commit suicide. For him the biggest problem the world faced was sparkly vampires; now a measly sixteen year old writes like him…

  3. No arguments here…

  1. Pingback: I write like… « My Writealogue

Leave a Reply

