…It’s a Gundam!

Here at Shards of Infinity, I have made at least some (read:minimal) effort to mask my love of anime, manga, and comics in general. My last post failed to do this entirely. But I believe that this is a case in which I can make an exception.

Now, I don’t know how many of you are well-versed in the famous Gundam series, but I’m willing to bet that at least a few of you heard about the giant, 1:1 scale RX-78-2 Gundam statue erected in Odaiba, Tokyo last summer. And by giant, I mean 18.5 metres high (about over 9000 61 feet, for any Americans in the audience). Looking at that number for the first time, I realize that it’s about ten times as tall as I am. Wow.

But sadly, fame is fleeting, and so was the Gundam. After a summer of hardcore partying (and a wedding), the Gundam was dismantled. But just as a profitable franchise rises from the murky depths time and time again, so too is the Gundam returning. It’s being erected in the city of Shizuoka, site of the Bandai production factory for Gundam models. And this time it’s pulling out the big guns, to stop anyone from dismantling it ever again.

That’s right, the RX-78-2 is armed with one of its beam sabers this time around. Man, that is friggin’ awesome. Maybe for round 3, they’ll include the rifle, and use it as a defense installation. I mean, if elephants worked on the Romans, then I think I giant robot would tell everyone to stay the hell away from your country.

If I ever get to go to Japan, then I am so totally going to check this thing out.

Shard

[info and photo via Kotaku, additional info via MAHQ]

About Shard

I'm a reader, a writer, a gamer, and various other things.

Posted on March 22nd, 2010, in General Bloggery, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

